I'm not rooting for the Aviator come Oscar night. As in most biopics I watched, it proved to be a bit of a bore. Yes, there were the spectacular plane shots, crash scenes, and Hughes's eccentricities that might stir a delight or two from Tim Burton fans. It's not Scorsese's best. I miss the gore and fight scenes that thrilled me in Gangs of New York and Goodfellas. Still, I hope he wins the Best Director award. He deserves one. He is an underrated artist in an overrated industry.

Back to the Aviator. The casting sucked. Why pair Leonardo DiCaprio with Cate Blanchette? It's like watching Vilma Santos and Aga Muhlach in one of those 80s romance-drama Pinoy movies. Hiyaiks! And Leonardo? He'll always be Jack of Titanic — that teenaged bum who got to score an undersexed snob. Nothing more.

My vote goes for Johnny Depp on Finding Neverland and Kate Winslet on Eternal Sunshine. I root for the underdogs. Hilary Swank should run for Best Actor (Boys Don't Cry and now, a boxer in Million Dollar Baby? Something's really amiss!) instead.

Best Picture for Sideways in my book.

